Specialist Lawyers

4.2.2 Updated on:

What is a specialist lawyer?

If you have a problem in law, it might be better to get help from a lawyer who is used to working in that area of law as their knowledge will save you time and therefore money.

Some lawyers only work in some areas and they are known as specialist lawyers. Lawyers who work in many areas and do not specialise are called general lawyers.

If you choose to have a specialist lawyer, you will have to pay for that yourself as you cannot choose who you have if you have a Legal Aid certificate. Remember to ask how much your case might cost before allowing the lawyer to do any work on your behalf.

A list of Jersey Law Firms can be found on the Law Society of Jersey’s website www.jerseylawsociety.je

All the law firms in Jersey were contacted and asked to submit names of lawyers in their firm who had a particular interest in various areas of the law. Citizens Advice Jersey offers this list for clients’ convenience and accepts no responsibility for services provided by them.

Family Law

JFLA = Jersey Family Law Association
IAML = International Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
ALC = Association of Lawyers for Children

 

NAME OF LAWYER FIRM TEL NO. E-MAIL
Linda Helm (English Solicitor) Appleby 888777 lhelm@applebyglobal.com
Simon Thomas Baker and Partners 766524 simonthomas@bakerandpartners.com
Stephen Crane BCR Law 760860 Stephen.crane@bcrlawjersey.com
Philip Syvret
(Member UK Solicitors Family Law Association)
Nina Benest
(Both members of Jersey Family Law Association)
Benest & Syvret 875875 info@benest-syvret.com
Advocate Francoise Binet Binet Law 747730 francoise.binet@binetlaw.com
 Advocate Dionne Gilbert
Advocate Nuno Santos-Costa
Collas Crill  601700 dionne.gilbert@collascrill.com

nuno.santoscosta@collascrill.com

Advocate Barbara Corbett

Advocate Nicholas Le Quesne

Corbett Le Quesne 733030 nicholas.lequesne@corbettlequesne.com

barbara.corbett@corbettlequesne.com

Advocate Alexander English Hatstone 761180 alexander.english@hatstone.com
Advocate Heidi Heath HJH Law 757757 heidi.heath@hjh-law.com
Advocate Matthew Godden Le Gallais & Luce 760760 mgodden@lgl.je
Advocate Martin Elks Island Legal martin.elks@islandlegal.je

07700700541

Advocate Chris Hillier (JFLA)

Advocate Debbie Corbel (JFLA)

Advocate Allana Binnie (JFLA)

 Ingram Advocates 833888 chris.hillier@ingramadvocates.com

debbie.corbel@ingramadvocates.com

allana.binnie@ingramadvocates.com

Mrs Natalie Jenner (Ecrivan and Partner) Parslows Lawyers 630530 enquiries@parslowsjersey.com
Catia Tavares- Senior Legal Assistant Sinels 620500 catia.tavares@sinels.com
Advocate R Tremoceiro Tremoceiro Advocates 737727 mail@tremoceiro.com
Advocate Rose Colley

Advocate Jamie Orchard

Alexandra Cohen

Lara Channing

Kiera Jones

Viberts, Jersey Lawyers 888666 rose.colley@viberts.com

jamie.orchard@viberts.com

Alexandra.cohen@viberts.com

lara.channing@viberts.com

Kiera.Jones@viberts.com

Ashley Hoy (Partner)

Advocate Estelle Burns

Voisin 500300 ashleyhoy@voisinlaw.com

EstelleBurns@voisinlaw.com

Personal Injury

APIL = Association of Personal Injury Lawyers
CPIL = College of Personal Injury Lawyers

NAME OF LAWYER FIRM TEL No. E-MAIL
Advocate David Benest

Stephen Crane

Lisa Simpson

BCR Law 760860 david.benest@bcrlawjersey.com

Stephen.crane@bcrlawjersey.com

lisa.simpson@bcrlawjersey.com

Advocate David Cadin Bedell Cristin 814814 enquiries@bedellcristin.com
Philip Syvret
(APIL Member)
Benest & Syvret 875875 info@benest-syvret.com
Advocate Davida Blackmore Advocate Davida Blackmore 729747 info@advocatedvb.com
Advocate Olaf Blakeley Blakeley Legal 502700 olaf@blakeleylegal.com
Advocate Christopher Philpott Carey Olsen 888900 enquiry@olsenlaw.com
Advocate Nuno Santos Costa
Advocate Dionne Gilbert
Collas Crill 601700 nuno.santoscosta@collascrill.com

dionne.gilbert@collascrill.com

Advocate Chris Austin Le Gallais & Luce 760760 caustin@lgl.je
Advocate Philip Livingstone (APIL member) Livingstones 747037 philip.livingstone@livingstones.je
Advocate Mike Preston

Advocate Mark Boothman

Preston Legal 713110 mike@prestonlegal.co.uk

mark@prestonlegal.co.uk

B K Pickersgill Pickersgill & Co 827766 enquiry@pco.je
Advocate R Tremoceiro Tremoceiro Advocates 737727 mail@tremoceiro.com
Advocate Christina Hall

Advocate Rebecca Morley-Kirk

Viberts, Jersey Lawyers 888666 christina.hall@viberts.com

corinne.holmes@viberts.com

rebecca.morley-kirk@viberts.com

Natalie.addis@viberts.com

Estelle Burns Voisin 500300 EstelleBurns@voisinlaw.com
Stephen Wauchope Hatstone Lawyers 761180 stephen.wauchope@hatstonelawyers.com
Kathleen McGee -Scottish Solicitor and APIL member
Advocate David Steenson
Steenson Nicholls 888031
888080
kathleen@steensonlaw.com
david@steensonlaw.com
Advocate Martin Elks Island Legal 07700 700 541 martin.elks@islandlegal.je
Tony Shelton Shelton Legal Services 07797 916 253 sheltonlegal1@outlook.com

Commercial Property, Commercial Leases

NAME OF LAWYER FIRM TEL No. E-MAIL
Ecrivian – Martin Le Boutillier

Advocate Pamela Doherty

Advocate Carol Doherty

Collas Crill 601700 martin.leboutillier@collascrill.com

pamela.doherty@collascrill.com

carol.doherty@collascrill.com

Advocate Nick Marshall Preston Legal 713110 nick@prestonlegal.co.uk

Non-Commerical Leases, Conveyancing

E-MAIL

NAME OF LAWYER FIRM TEL No. E-MAIL
Tim Hart Appleby 888777 andy.pim@applebyglobal.com
Stephen Crane BCR Law 760860 Stephen.crane@bcrlawjersey.com
Bedell Cristin 814814 enquiries@bedellcristin.com
Advocate F J Benest Benest & Syvret 875875 nfo@benest-syvret.com
Advocate Carl Parslow Parslows Lawyers 630530 enquiries@parslowsjersey.com
Ecrivian – Martin Le Boutillier

Advocate Pamela Doherty

Advocate Carol Doherty

Gavin Renault

Paul Deveau

Anna Carter

Barney Orr

Donna Hughes

Dawn Barette

Collas Crill 601700 martin.leboutillier@collascrill.com

pamela.doherty@collascrill.com

carol.doherty@collascrill.com

gavin.renault@collascrill.com

paul.deveau@collascrill.com

anna.carter@collascrill.com

barney.orr@collascrill.com

donna.hughes@collascrill.com

dawn.barette@collascrill.com

Mr Tony Del Amo

Mr Paul Scally

Miss Alexandra Bassford

Le Gallais & Luce 760760 tdelamo@lgl.je

pscally@lgl.je

abassford@lgl.je

Katharine Marshall

Tim Bechelet

Jonathan Hughes

Julie Melia

Ogier 514304

514126

504336

504110

katharine.marshall@ogier.com

tim.bechelet@ogier.com

jonathan.hughes@ogier.com

julie.melia@ogier.com

Advocate Simon Habin Simon J Habin – Advocate 888166 simon.habin@hillstreetchambers.com
Advocate Andrew Pinel

Advocate Peter Bertram

Kate Hamilton

Pinel Advocates 828982 acmp@pineladvocates.com

pb@pineladvocates.com

keh@pineladvocates.com

Advocate James Lawrence

Barry K Pickersgill (Jersey Solicitor)

Michael Falle

Stéphane Rault

Viberts, Jersey Lawyers 888666 james.lawrence@viberts.com

barry.pickersgill@viberts.com

michael.falle@viberts.com

stephane.rault@viberts.com

Natalie Harris Voisin 500300 mail@voisinlaw.com

Wills and Probate

ACTAPS =Association of Contentious Trusts and Probate Specialists

NAME OF LAWYER FIRM TEL No. E-MAIL
Advocate F J Benest Benest & Syvret 875875 info@benest-syvret.com
Advocate Olaf Blakeley Blakeley Legal 502700 olaf@blakeleylegal.com
Advocate Kate Westwater Bois Bois 480440 kate.westwater@boisbois.com
Simon Lofthouse (English Solicitor) Corbett Le Quesne 733030 simon.lofthouse@corbettlequesne.com

07797 863982

Advocate John Kelleher Carey Olsen 888900 enquiry@olsenlaw.com
Advocate Sarah Dale Castle Chambers 668227 enquiries@castlechambers.je
Dionne Gilbert Collas Crill 601700 dionne.gilbert@collascrill.com
Advocate Stephen Crane

Advocate Michelle Leverington

BCR Law 760860 Stephen.crane@bcrlawjersey.com
Advocate Stephen Wauchope Hatstone Lawyers 761180 stephen.wauchope@hatstone.com
Advocate Heidi Heath HJH Law 757757 heidi.heath@hjh-law.com
Mr Tony del Amo

Miss Marianne Shaw

Le Gallais & Luce 760760 tdelamo@lgl.je

mshaw@lgl.je

Fiona Lilleyman

Julie Meila

 Ogier  514093

514110

fiona.lilleyman@ogier.com

julie.melia@ogier.com

Advocate Lee Ingram

Advocate Debbie Corbel

Advocate Allana Binnie

Ingram Advocates  833888 lee.ingram@ingramadvocates.com

debbie.corbel@ingramadvocates.com

allana.binnie@ingramadvocates.com

Advocate Andrew Pinel

Kate Hamilton

Emma Zomparelli

Janina Porter

Pinel Advocates 828982 acmp@pineladvocates.com

keh@pineladvocates.com

ez@pineladvocates.com

jp@pineladvocates.com

Advocate Clare Nicolle Preston Legal 713110 clare@prestonlegal.co.uk
Advocate Simon Habin Simon J Habin – Advocate 888166 simon.habin@hillstreetchambers.com
Advocate Philip Sinel Sinels 620500 philip.sinel@sinels.com
Advocate R Tremoceiro Tremoceiro Advocates 737727 mail@tremoceiro.com
Advocate C M B Thacker

Advocate Zoe Blomfield

Ashley Bidmead

B K Pickersgill

Viberts, Jersey Lawyers 888666 jersey.lawyer@viberts.com

zoe.blomfield@viberts.com

Ashley.bidmead@viberts.com

enquiry@pco.je

Advocate Nigel Pearmain Voisin 500300 mail@voisinlaw.com

Employment Law

ELA = Employment Lawyers association

NAME OF LAWYER FIRM TEL No. E-MAIL
Advocate Nina Benest Benest & Syvret 875875 info@benest-syvret.com
Advocate Olaf Blakeley Blakeley Legal 502700 olaf@blakeleylegal.com
Advocate John Kelleher
Sioban Riley
Huw Thomas
Carey Olsen 888900 enquiry@olsenlaw.com
Advocate Nuno Santos-Costa Collas Crill 601700 nuno.santoscosta@collascrill.com
Wendy Lambert

Michelle Leverington

BCR Law 767764  wendy.lambert@bcrjersey.com

michelle.leverington@bcrjersey.com

Advocate Stephen Wauchope

Advocate Alexander English

Hatstone Lawyers 761180 stephen.wauchope@hatstone.com

alexander.english@hatstone.com

Advocate Heidi Heath HJH Law 757757 heidi.heath@hjh-law.com
Advocate Matthew Godden

Advocate Chris Austin

Le Gallais & Luce 760760 mgodden@lgl.je

caustin@lgl.je

Advocate Philip Livingstone Livinstones 747037 philip.livingstone@lwrlivingstones.je
Carla Benest Mourants 676000
Helen Ruelle

Will Austin-Vautier

Ogier 514374 helen.ruelle@ogier.com

will.austin-vautier@ogier.com

Advocate Lorraine McClure Parslows Lawyers 630530 enquiries@parslowsjersey.com
Advocate Mike Preston

Advocate Mark Boothman

Preston Legal 713110 mike@prestonlegal.co.uk

mark@prestonlegal.co.uk

Advocate Vicky Milner (ELA) – Compromise agreement specialist Callington Chambers  510250  info@callingtonchambers.com
Advocate Davida Blackmore (ELA) Advocate Davida Blackmore 729747 info@advocatedvb.com
Advocate Martin Elks Island Legal martin.elks@islandlegal.je

07700700541

 Advocate Rebecca Morley-Kirk

Lara Zambon

Viberts, Jersey Lawyers 888666 rebecca.morley-kirk@viberts.com

lara.zambon@viberts.com

Dexter Flynn Voisin 500300 dexterflynn@voisinlaw.com

Criminal Law

NAME OF LAWYER FIRM TEL No. E-MAIL
Advocate Stephen Baker
Advocate William Redgrave
Baker and Partners 766524 stephenbaker@bakerandpartners.com

williamredgrave@bakerandpartners.com

Stephen Crane BCR 760860 Stephen.crane@bcrlawjersey.com
Advocate Olaf Blakeley Blakeley Legal 502700 olaf@blakeleylegal.com
Advocate Carl Parslow Parslows Lawyers 630530 enquiries@parslowsjersey.com
Advocate Sarah Dale Castle Chambers 668227 enquiries@castlechambers.je
Advocate Dionne Gilbert Collas Crill 601700 dionne.gilbert@collascrill.com
Advocate Heidi Heath HJH Law 757757 heidi.heath@hjh-law.com
Advocate Chris Austin Le Gallais & Luce 760760 caustin@lgl.je
Advocate Philip Livingstone Livingstones 747037 philip.livingstone@livingstones.je
Advocate Mike Preston

Advocate Mark Boothman

Advocate Ian Jones

Preston Legal 713110 mike@prestonlegal.co.uk

mark@prestonlegal.co.uk

ian@prestonlegal.co.uk

Advocate Philip Sinel Sinels 620500 enquiries@sinels.com
Advocate R Tremoceiro Tremoceiro Advocates 737727 mail@tremoceiro.com
Advocate Christina Hall

Advocate Rebecca Morley-Kirk

Advocate Natalie Addis

Viberts, Jersey Lawyers 888666 christina.hall@viberts.com

rebecca.morley-kirk@viberts.com

alexander.english@viberts.com

Natalie.addis@viberts.com

Estelle Burns Voisins 500300 EstelleBurns@voisinlaw.com
Advocate David Steenson Steenson’s 888080 david@steensonlaw.com
Advocate Martin Elks Island Legal martin.elks@islandlegal.je

07700700541